Overview:
In the true spirit of inquiry Kath has been working hard to develop an online workshop that will ensure teachers continue to have access to practical, professional learning that deepens understanding for classroom and online inquiry.
 
TIME INVOLVED:
4 x 2 hour interactive sessions with Kath over two consecutive days.
 
PLATFORM, MATERIALS AND RESOURCES:
Participants will connect through the ZOOM meetings platform. They will need a laptop, headphones / earbuds and a quiet space to be over the two days. All participants will be issued with a link to the course that will not be shareable with others. Participants will agree to use the video and sound function to enable full participation. The workshop will not be recorded.

A detailed booklet of Resource Material to accompany the workshop will be shared with participants.
 
PARTICIPANT NUMBERS:
In the interest of interactivity and deeper learning there will be a limit of 50 people per workshop.
Agenda: Proposed Overview of the workshop
Day 1

Session 1

The essence of inquiry
  • What are our shared intentions for our learning?
  • Tuning in to our thinking and understanding of inquiry-based learning
  • How can we cultivate curiosity – for ourselves and our learners?
  • What is the role of skills and dispositions in an inquiry-based classroom?

Session 2

The art of inquiry teaching
  • What are the key practices used by inquiry teachers?
  • How can they be used across the curriculum?
  • What does this look like - in the classroom AND in an online setting?
  • What does a typical inquiry lesson entail?
Independent inquiry tasks will be undertaken by participants prior to session 3 (day 2)
Day 2

Session 3

Designing for inquiry
  • Reflecting and sharing following our independent learning tasks
  • Types of inquiries – from spontaneous, planned ahead, personal and shared
  • Using the cycle of inquiry to design extended units/inquiry journeys
  • How does the model work?

Session 4

Digging deep into the cycle
  • The phases of inquiry: what are they and what strategies can we use for each one?
  • Developing an action plan for classroom/online teaching based on our learning.
  • Reflection and close
Potential Audience:
For Educators teaching grades K-6.
 
KATH MURDOCH
Kath Murdoch is an experienced teacher, author, university lecturer and popular consultant who has worked for many years in schools throughout the world. With a focus on early childhood and primary education, she is widely respected as a leader in the field of inquiry based learning and integrative curriculum in which she has taught, researched and published for over 30 years.

Kath began her professional life as a classroom teacher in Melbourne, Australia. Her fascination in how students' constructed their understandings - and her interest in the way questions and big ideas could drive curriculum soon lead to a passion for integrative and inquiry based methodologies. This passion has become a career-long focus for teaching, research and writing and the methodologies in which Kath specialises are now central to curriculum frameworks in many parts of the world - including the popular International Baccalaureate, PYP program.

Critical to Kath's success is her continued involvement in classroom teaching. Whether it is to demonstrate techniques, coach teachers or build her own repertoire of practices, Kath is committed to regular and ongoing work with students. Her classroom work and research feeds a dynamic and ever-evolving expertise in the area of integrative and inquiry-based learning.

Kath's professional development offerings are diverse. They range from intensive partnerships with schools to develop inquiry programs and practices over several years through to one-day workshops for beginning or experienced inquiry teachers. Whether in her home town of Melbourne or on the other side of the world, working with a team or speaking to a packed auditorium Kath's style is refreshingly practical, inclusive and always connected to the real world of teaching.
 
DATES & TIMES:

2nd & 3rd April 2022
There will be 2 sessions per day. Each session will be for 2 hours and an hour break in between.

2nd April 2022
Session 1 - 2 hours
Zurich 7:00 am | Dubai 10:00 am | India 11:30 am | Hong Kong 2:00 pm | Melbourne 5:00 pm

Session 2 - 2 hours
Zurich 10:00 am | Dubai 1:00 pm | India 2:30 pm | Hong Kong 5:00 pm | Melbourne 8:00 pm

3rd April 2022
Session 3 - 2 hours
Zurich 7:00 am | Dubai 10:00 am | India 11:30 am | Hong Kong 2:00 pm | Melbourne 5:00 pm

Session 4 - 2 hours
Zurich 10:00 am | Dubai 1:00 pm | India 2:30 pm | Hong Kong 5:00 pm | Melbourne 8:00 pm

Please click here to check your time for the workshop
INVESTMENT
 
USD 400 Per Participant
USD 350 Per Participant for a Group of 10
INCLUDES: Certificate of Participation for 10 Professional Development Hours
Emails:
www.chaptersinternational.com
+91-9818362535