Overview:
What are more equitable ways to build math fact fluency, accuracy, efficiency, and number sense with children? Educators use daily 5 - 15 minute math (number) talks to encourage critical thinking, discussion, and deepen understandings about how contextual and mathematical problems can be solved in creative and flexible ways.
Agenda:
Session 1 - Getting Started with Math Talks That Center Accessibility and Inclusivity

Session 2 - Planning for Addition and Subtraction Math Talks

Session 3 - Planning for Multiplication and Division Math Talks

Session 4 - Planning for Fraction Math Talks (Even in the Primary Grades!)

In this series of four, two-hour workshops we’ll explore how to plan and practice strategic and purposeful math talks that support all learners to more effectively explain their thinking and develop deeper numerical relationships. We’ll study documentation of children’s solution strategies and videos from a variety of grade levels as a way of anticipating student responses and preparing for upcoming math talks.

By the end of the series, you'll have explored ideas on how to help your mathematicians think more flexibly with numbers, planned prep math talks that focus on sense-making, and ways to help students engage in a collective mathematical discourse while building their own individual mathematical understandings.
Potential Audience:
Educators of grades K-6, math coaches, curriculum coordinators and administrators.
Jessica Martin
Jessica Martin is a former classroom teacher, Resident Advisor at University of California at Los Angeles Teacher Education Program, staff developer at Teachers College Reading and Writing Project, Columbia University, and CEO of the education consulting organization at Growing Educators. Jessica now partners with K-12 learning communities as a thinking partner in English Language Arts, Cognitively Guided Instruction (CGI) math, and inquiry-based instruction. Her first book, Strategic Classroom Design (Heinemann, 2019), was inspired by equity-minded educators committed to co-creating incredible spaces that engage and uplift all learners. When she is not collaborating with educators, you can usually find her with her family on a basketball court in Los Angeles, California. Follow Jessica on Twitter @growingjessica
 
DATES & TIMES:

2nd, 9th, 16th, 23rd October 2021

Each Session is for 2 hours
London 6:30 am | Zurich 7:30 am | Dubai 9:30 am | India 11:00 am | Hong Kong 1:30 pm | Melbourne 3:30 pm
INVESTMENT
 
USD 400 Per Participant
USD 350 Per Participant for a Group of 6 or more
INCLUDES: Certificate of Participation for 10 Professional Development hours
Upcoming Workshops
Enhance Students Conceptual Understanding of Fractions Using A Cognitively
Guided Instruction (CGI) Framework (K-6)
- By Jessica Martin
8th, 15th, 22nd, 29th September 2021
Infuse Reading Workshop with an Inquiry Approach So Children Have More
Agency and Develop Strengths as Readers, Thinkers, Talkers, and Learners
- By Kathy Collins
2nd, 9th, 16th, 23rd November 2021
An Introduction to Math Workshop Using A Cognitively Guided Instruction (CGI)
Math Approach
- By Jessica Martin
2nd, 9th, 16th, 23rd November 2021
Emails:
www.chaptersinternational.com
+91-9818362535