While many teachers may like and long for the security of pre-planned units of study to help guide teaching, there are also many other teachers who resist instruction that feels scripted, mandated, and meant for classrooms elsewhere. How do we reconcile our desire for responsive, customized teaching with our need to move along through curriculum? This four-part series of sessions is designed for teachers who are experienced with reading workshop and want to refresh some of their ideas about units of study and reading workshop structures. Kathy will share ideas for transforming the binding structures in our teaching practice and the set-pieces within the curriculum into more open inquiries without losing intentions or diffusing purpose. participants will look at a couple of units of study and typical reading workshop structures to make space for inquiry-based learning. Some questions we’ll grapple with are:
  1. How do reading inquiries launch, sustain, and wrap-up?
  2. How can we bring the spirit of inquiry to conferences and small group instruction?
  3. How might we plan instruction to ensure we meet standards and expectations while leaving room for children to create their own inquiries and projects?
Teachers are invited to bring along their own units of study in order to rethink and revise them with an inquiry mindset.
Potential Audience
Educators for K-8 classes. Literacy Coaches
Kathy Collins
Kathy Collins works in schools and presents in conferences all over the world to support teachers in developing high-quality, effective literacy instruction in the early childhood settings through middle school. She is the co-author, along with Janine Bempechat of Not This But That: No More Mindless Homework (Heinemann, 2017). She co-authored, with Matt Glover, I Am Reading: Nurture Meaning-Making and Joyful Engagement with Texts (Heinemann, 2015). Kathy's other books include Reading for Real: Teach Children to Read With Power, Intention, and Joy in K-3 Classrooms (Stenhouse, 2008) and Growing Readers: Units of Study in Primary Classrooms (Stenhouse, 2004). Kathy has worked closely with the Teachers College Reading and Writing Project at Columbia University, and she taught in Brooklyn, New York. Kathy and her family live in Durham, New Hampshire.
 
DATES & TIMES:

2nd, 9th, 16th, 23rd November 2021

Each session is for 2 hours
London 9:00 am | Zurich 10:00 am | Dubai 1:00 pm | India 2:30 pm | Hong Kong 5:00 pm | Melbourne 8.00 pm
INVESTMENT
 
USD 400 Per Participant
USD 350 Per Participant for a Group of 5
USD 300 Per Participant for a Group of 12 or more
INCLUDES: Certificate of participation for 10 Professional Development hours
 
Emails:
www.chaptersinternational.com
+91-9818362535