How do we recognize, model, and support inquiry schoolwide?
Inquiry-based classrooms require teachers to step back and engage students in active and deep questioning. The same can be said for leaders promoting inquiry schoolwide. What does schoolwide inquiry look like? What methods and routines can we share - and model - with teachers to get there? What does it mean to step back and allow teachers to ask questions and pursue their own inquiries? What might we give up and get back in return?

Join your colleagues from around the world for this exciting four-week series where you will learn practical tools to embed and promote inquiry schoolwide. Participants will leave with a toolkit of transferrable inquiry-based experiences from: Inquiry Partners, Teach Different, Liberating Structures and Appreciative Inquiry – as well as their own copy of Experience Inquiry.
WEEK ONE:
What does inquiry look like when it’s happening inside classrooms?
  • Impromptu Networking
  • Taking stock of current practices using Appreciative Inquiry routines

What does inquiry look like when it’s happening inside schools?
  • Introduction to the “inquiry five” for school leaders
  • How do we ensure that inquiry is happening schoolwide?
  • Taking the Inquiry Leader Self-Survey and setting up faculty-driven feedback loops (Staff Survey)
WEEK TWO:
What do your teachers have to say?
  • Staff Survey results shared and analyzed using the W3

How can we address our biggest dilemmas around inquiry implementation?
  • Participants engage in Consultancy Protocols (Troika)
WEEK THREE:
How can we powerfully and successfully model inquiry with our teachers, part I?
  • Dan and Steve Fouts guide participants in the Teach Different method to motivate inquiry through engaging conversations.
WEEK FOUR:
How can we powerfully and successfully model inquiry with our teachers, part II?
  • Watching and analyzing a classroom lesson together (discussion norms introduced)
  • Spiral Journaling reflections
Audience:
This four-week workshop is ideal for school leaders and anyone who regularly works with adult learners in schools that implement inquiry-based instructional practices: heads of schools, principals, board members, IB Coordinators, IBEN workshop leaders, department chairs, etc.
 
Kimberly L. Mitchell
Kimberly, author of Experience Inquiry, is an internationally-recognized speaker on student-driven learning and inquiry-based instruction. Her workshops and videos are well-known throughout the international school community, and she is praised for her “accessible, engaging, and practical” approach to inquiry. Kimberly has over 30 years of experience at all levels of educational leadership and grade levels. She is a former teacher, IB principal, senior program officer at the Gates Foundation, and director for Teach for All in Argentina. In addition to her work with Inquiry Partners, Kimberly teaches undergraduate classes at the University of Washington’s College of Education in Seattle, Washington, USA.
DAN FOUTS
Dan is a practicing high school social studies teacher from the Chicago land area with 30 years of experience. In this role he has led curriculum teams, served as departmental instructional coach and spearheaded the creation of a philosophy elective which he has taught for 10 years. Critical thinking, love of questioning and conversation are what Dan values most in education.

Along with his twin brother Steve, he co-founded Teach Different which specializes in helping educators and parents start and manage conversations using a powerful 3-step protocol. His passion is to teach how to use this conversation protocol in conjunction with essential questions to give young people and adults alike the courage to speak, listen and understand.

As part of his work with Teach Different, Dan has presented extensively at a state and national level on inquiry-based instruction techniques including a recent webinar series offered by the National Council for the Social Studies.

Dan and his brother produce and host the Teach Different podcast which showcases the benefits of inquiry-based instruction, critical thinking and the art of conversation.
DR. STEVEN G. FOUTS
Steve is a social entrepreneur with over 20 years of teaching experience in K-16 education and is currently CEO of Teach Different, a professional development organization from Chicago that has pioneered a 3-Step conversation technique for the classroom. Steve has experience teaching philosophy on the undergraduate level and has spent over a decade teaching mathematics and social studies to underserved student populations from Chicago’s west side. He has published numerous articles about social justice and equity in K-12 education and is a member of Educators for Excellence, a non-profit organization devoted to policy advocacy for K-12 classrooms.
 
DATES & TIMES:

6th, 13th, 20th, 27th September 2022

Each session is for 2 hours
San Francisco 5:00 am | New York 8:00 am | London 1:00 pm | Zurich 2:00 pm | Dubai 4:00 pm | India 5:30 pm
Hong Kong 8:00 pm

Please click here to check your time for the workshop
INVESTMENT
USD 400
INCLUDES: Certificate of Participation for 8 Professional Development hours.
Upcoming Workshops
Fostering Voice, Choice, and Agency in any Literacy Classroom
- By Dr. Towanda Harris
8th, 15th & 22nd October 2022
Unlocking the Power of Inquiry through Conversations
for Middle and High School Educators
- By Dr. Steven G. Fouts & Dan Fouts
11th, 18th, 25th October & 1st November 2022
Life-Giving Leadership
- By Jim Knight
24th October & 3rd, 14th & 21st November 2022
 
Emails:
www.chaptersinternational.com
+91-9818362535