Overview:
Make learning authentic and relevant. Empower your students for a changing world. Join Julie Stern, author of books in the Concept-Based book series, the Visible Learning book series with John Hattie, and her latest book, Learning That Transfers:Designing Curriculum for A Changing World. Experience the excitement and joy that comes with conceptual learning that transfers to students' lives.
Session 1:The role of concepts in learning (3 hours)
  • Explore the science of learning to understand how concepts aid retention and transfer of learning.
  • Identify disciplinary concepts in a variety of modern situations or problems.
  • Apply strategies to harness students’ prior knowledge in new learning situations.
  • Investigate how questions can guide learning and point student attention to deeper structural patterns of how the world is organized.
  • Understand how conceptual learning helps students unlock new situations.
Session 2:Promoting conceptual transfer (3 hours)
  • Determine specific instances, case studies, historical contexts, or current events, where students will apply their learning to unlock a new situation.
  • Find or create novel contexts where students can apply conceptual understanding.
  • Draft a unit plan for concept-driven learning that transfers.
  • Receive real-time, tailored feedback from Julie.
JULIE STERN
JULIE STERN is passionate about synthesizing the best of education research into practical tools that support educators in breaking free of the industrial model of schooling and moving toward teaching and learning that promotes sustainability, equity, and well-being. She is the best-selling author of Learning that Transfers, Visible Learning for Social Studies with Hattie, Fisher, Frey and Tools for Teaching Conceptual Understanding, Elementary and Secondary. She is the thought leader behind the global workshop series Making Sense of Learning Transfer and is a certified trainer in Visible Learning Plus. She is a James Madison Constitutional Fellow and taught social studies for many years in Washington, DC and her native Louisiana. Julie moves internationally every few years with her husband, a US diplomat, and her two young sons.
 
DATES & TIMES:
5th & 12th November 2022

Saturday 5th November 2022
3 Hour Session
New York 5:00 am | London 9:00 am | Zurich 10:00 am | Dubai 1:00 pm | India 2:30 pm | Hong Kong 5:00 pm
Melbourne 8:00 pm

Saturday 12th November 2022
3 Hour Session
New York 4:00 am | London 9:00 am | Zurich 10:00 am | Dubai 1:00 pm | India 2:30 pm| Hong Kong 5:00 pm
Melbourne 8:00 pm

Please click here to check your time for the workshop
INVESTMENT
 
USD 350 Per Participant
INCLUDES: Certificate of participation for 6 Professional Development Hours.
Upcoming Workshops
Unlocking the Power of Inquiry through Conversations for
Middle and High School Educators
- By Dr. Steven G. Fouts & Dan Fouts
11th, 18th, 25th October & 1st November 2022
Curriculum Mapping For Modern Learning:Bundling Standards, Aligning
Assessments, And Engaging Students And Faculty
- By Dr. Heidi Hayes Jacobs
5th, 12th & 19th November 2022
Emails:
www.chaptersinternational.com
+91-9818362535