Overview:
During the webinar, Carl and Matt will discuss competencies that are shared by extraordinary writing teachers, and concrete actions teachers can take to work on them. Some of these competencies include:
  • Being curriculum decision-makers who can “project,” or design units of study in response to their students’ needs as writers.
  • Helping students learn from writers in the immersion stage of the writing process, through whole-class text study, and from mini-lessons, small group lessons, and writing conferences.
  • Teaching clearly and precisely in craft and process mini-lessons, small group lessons, and writing conferences.
  • Supporting student independence by helping them develop their own individual writing processes, select their own mentor texts, and learn to collaborate with their classmates in partnerships and peer conferences.
Participants will learn practical strategies they can use as soon as they return to their schools to improve these important aspects of their writing instruction and others.
Potential Audience:
This webinar series is designed for K-8 teachers who want to learn about how to become excellent writing teachers, as well as for the literacy coaches, administrators, and curriculum specialists who support them.
CARL ANDERSON
Carl Anderson is an internationally recognized expert in writing instruction for grades K-8. He works as a consultant in schools and districts around the world, and has been a longtime staff developer for the Teachers College Reading and Writing Project at Columbia University. Carl is the author of numerous books on teaching writing, including the new A Teacher's Guide to Mentor Texts K-5, A Teacher’s Guide to Writing Conferences, How's It Going? A Practical Guide to Conferring with Student Writers, as well as Assessing Writers and the Strategic Writing Conferences series. Carl is known for his keynote addresses, PD workshops, school-based residencies, and webinars. Tweet him at @conferringcarl.
MATT GLOVER
Matt Glover has been a teacher, principal, and consultant for over 30 years. Matt’s most recent book is Craft and Process Studies, which focuses on increasing student engagement through choice of genre. He is also the author and co-author of many Heinemann titles including I Am Reading, Engaging Young Writers, Projecting Possibilities for Writers, Already Ready, and Watch Katie and Matt…Sit Down and Teach Up, a video- enhanced ebook. Matt was also co-editor with Ellin Oliver Keene of a best-selling collection of essays, The Teacher You Want to Be. An international literacy consultant, Matt frequently speaks on topics related to nurturing writers of all ages, early reading, and supporting children’s intellectual development. Tweet him at @Mattglover123.
 
DATES & TIMES:
7th & 14th January 2023

There will be 2 sessions per day. Each session will be for 2 hours and a half-hour break in between.

7th January 2023
Session 1 - 2 hour
New York 4:00 am | London 9:00 am | Zurich 10:00 am | Dubai 1:00 pm | India 2:30 pm | Hong Kong 5:00 pm

Half an Hour Break

Session 2 - 2 hours
New York 6:30 am | London 11:30 am | Zurich 12:30 pm | Dubai 3:30 pm | India 5:00 pm | Hong Kong 7:30 pm

14th January 2023
Session 3 - 2 hour
New York 4:00 am | London 9:00 am | Zurich 10:00 am | Dubai 1:00 pm | India 2:30 pm | Hong Kong 5:00 pm

Half an Hour Break

Session 4 - 2 hours
New York 6:30 am | London 11:30 am | Zurich 12:30 pm | Dubai 3:30 pm | India 5:00 pm | Hong Kong 7:30 pm

Please click here to check your time for the workshop
INVESTMENT
 
USD 400 Per Participant
USD 350 Per Participant for a Group of 8
INCLUDES: Certificate of Participation for 10 Professional Development Hours.
Upcoming Workshops
Fostering Voice, Choice, and Agency in any Literacy Classroom
- By Dr. Towanda Harris
8th, 15th & 22nd October 2022
Teaching Students to Ask and Use Their Own Questions with the Question
Formulation Technique (QFT) The Right Question Institute (RQI)
- By Sarah Westbrook
8th, 15th, 29th October 2022
Weaving Texts Through Journeys of Inquiry: A Weekend Workshop for K-8
Teachers with a focus on Literacy and Inquiry
- By Kath Murdoch
23rd & 30th October 2022
Emails:
www.chaptersinternational.com
+91-9818362535