Overview:
This online workshop series explores strategies, resources, and protocols to authentically examine what it means to be an LGBTQ+ inclusive learning organization. This workshop series will invite us to rethink our communication practices in order to build communities where advocacy work can thrive. Participants will curate a digital portfolio to share with their own community, and will have ongoing access to the facilitator in order to sustain conversations.
AGENDA:
Session 1 - 90 minutes
  • Rethinking protocols that prioritise deep listening
  • Grounding the learning with self: modeling unlearning
  • Media literacy and lgbtq+ inclusion: exploring the bond
Session 2 - 90 minutes
  • Co-constructing a definition of accountability
  • Rethinking the process of auditing policies and practices
  • The importance of Queer Joy
Session 3 - 90 minutes
  • Rethinking strategies to survey our community
  • The necessity of seeing conflict as part of our growth
  • Sustaining change as a learning organization
WORKSHOP OBJECTIVES:
  • Deepen understanding of the value of co-constructing inclusion with community
  • Rehearse communication strategies that will be at the foundation of this work
  • Appreciate the significance of one’s personal media diet, and practice brining a critical lens to narratives
  • Understand what an arts-based research approach can mean for your community
  • Reconsider policies and practices from a strengths-focused stance
  • A customizable digital portfolio will be provided to all participants with resources explored.
POTENTIAL AUDIENCE:
This workshop is for educators who care about ensuring schools go beyond ‘tolerating’ those who have been historically marginalized. This series is for educators who value listening, who want to deepen their own capacity for reflection, and who believe a commitment to inclusion can be grounded in joy.
Tricia Friedman
Tricia Friedman has worked as an educator in The United States, China, Thailand, Ukraine, Morocco, Indonesia, Switzerland, and Singapore.

Tricia is the founder of Allyed.org and the Be a Better Ally Podcast where she hosts conversations about the state of LGBTQ+ inclusion in schools.

Currently, she is the Creative Content Director with Shifting Schools.

Tricia lives in Ottawa with her wife, and their dog who reminds her that every day deserves a really good walk.
 
DATES & TIMES:

13th, 20th, 27th September 2022

Each session is for 90 minutes

New York 4:00 am | London 9:00 am | Zurich 10:00 am | Dubai 12:00 pm | India 1:30 pm | Hong Kong 4:00 pm

Please click here to check your time for the workshop
INVESTMENT
 
USD 300 Per Participant
INCLUDES: Certificate of Participation for 8 Professional Development hours.
 
Emails:
www.chaptersinternational.com
+91-9818362535