Overview:
This series, designed for educators working with children ages 3-8, explores the theory and practice of Story Workshop - a playful approach to literacy that prioritizes opportunities for making meaning, sharing stories, play, and the arts.

Using a combination of active discussion, reflection, images, and video, participants will:
  • Deepen their practical understanding of the ways humans use story to navigate experience and the importance of story to learning
  • Extend their commitment to the role of documentation to strengthen the relationship between practice and theory
  • Explore the power and influence of environment and materials to create conditions for making meaning and community building
  • Embrace the critical role of play and the arts to early literacy development
  • Design action plans to grow a practice of Story Workshop in their own setting
Required text:
Story Workshop: New Possibilities for Young Writers by Susan Harris MacKay (Heinemann, 2021)
Anticipated Section Focuses:
Day 1: Preparing for Story Workshop
What are the relationships between play, literacy, and the arts? We’ll discuss the nature and nutritional value of story in the development of healthy human beings. We’ll also consider the power of the aesthetic quality of an environment to promote a mindset conducive to learning, relationship, and creativity.
Day 2: Getting Started
How is Story Workshop organized? What practices make a successful story workshop? We’ll explore the geography of Story Workshop and consider what supports the kind of compass necessary for navigating the terrain. We’ll observe Story Workshop in session through video documentation.
Day 3: Story Creation
How can we create entry points for writing that support all writers to feel confident and motivated to invent their stories? We’ll build shared understanding of the kinds of tools, strategies, materials, and adult facilitation that encourage children to engage in story creation.
Day 4: Story Sharing
How can we establish a classroom community of beginning writers where equity, empathy, and compassion are part of the process and vital by-products of writing? We’ll reflect on the reasons that sharing stories has the potential to build strong classroom communities and share strategies for supporting groups of children to listen, respond, and find themselves in relation to and solidarity with others.
 
SUSAN HARRIS MACKAY
Susan Harris MacKay has been a classroom teacher working with children ages 3 - 11 in public school settings, and pedagogical director of Portland Children's Museum and Opal School. She is currently a pedagogical consultant working with educators world-wide who wish to enrich their practice as teacher-researchers committed to strengthening relationships between play, beauty, and justice. Susan's work has appeared in a variety of publications in the fields of museum education, leadership, and classroom practice. She is the author of Story Workshop: New Possibilities for Young Writers from Heinemann (2021).
MATT KARLSEN
Matt Karlsen dedicates his efforts to helping fellow educators expand their imagination regarding their work and its relationship to larger questions of democracy and justice. Over the last twenty-five years, he has developed his understanding about those relationships as a teacher (mostly at the upper-elementary and middle school levels) and facilitator of professional development (including as Director of Opal School's Center for Learning). Matt serves on the Board of PILA global and hopes you will join him in cultivating nests for refugee children.
 
DATES & TIMES:

19th, 26th October & 2nd, 9th November 2021
PDT 8:00 am | EDT 11:00 am | London 4:00 pm | Zurich 5:00 pm | Dubai 7:00 pm | India 8:30 pm | Hong Kong 11:00 pm

Please click here to check your time for the workshop
INVESTMENT
 
USD 400 Per Participant
USD 350 Per Participant for a Group of 5
USD 300 Per Participant for a Group of 10 or more.
INCLUDES: Certificate of Participation for 10 Professional Development hours.
 
Upcoming Workshops
Personal Inquiry in the K-6 Classroom
- By Kath Murdoch
4th, 8th October & 1st, 5th November 2021
Power of Playful Inquiry
- By Susan Harris Mackay & Matt Karlsen
23rd, 30th October & 6th, 13th November 2021
The Power of Making Thinking Visible Online Workshop
- By Ron Ritchhart & Mark Church
3rd, 10th, 17th, 24th November 2021
Emails:
www.chaptersinternational.com
+91-9818362535