Overview:
Increasingly, we are recognizing the importance of the culture of the classroom as foundational for learning. And yet, we often don’t give teachers many tools for or understanding of how to create group culture that can foster deep learning and build understanding. During the workshop, we will focus on the practical and concrete ways educators can create a culture of thinking in their schools and classrooms, foster the kinds of thinking opportunities that lead to deep understanding of content, and develop our skills of how to look for evidence of student thinking and understanding. This workshop offers a unique opportunity to explore the cultural forces of: interactions, modeling, environment, routines, language, opportunities, time, and expectations. Throughout the workshop, participants will use a variety of thinking routines to facilitate their own learning and explore how each of these can be used to create more thoughtful classrooms.
 
Participants will explore and build their understanding around:
  • What is a culture of thinking? What does it look like and feel like?
  • The role messaging plays in both understanding and shaping of group culture
  • How can we assess, understand and shape the culture of our classrooms and schools to most effectively build a culture of thinking?
  • How can the cultural forces that exist in each classroom support and further develop a culture of thinking?
  • How can educators use thinking routines to structure, scaffold, and support students’ thinking?
 
AGENDA AND WORKSHOP OVERVIEW
Session 1

A New Vision of Education
  • How can we create a culture of thinking for ourselves as educators?
  • In what ways has our understanding of the goals of education and good teaching changed, shifted, and developed?
  • What do we want the students we teach to be like as adults?

Session 2

Unpacking Culture
  • How can we unpack group culture to be understand how it is created and supported?
  • 3 Stories: What are the stories of learning we have been told, have told ourselves, and what story do we want to be telling our students?
  • How do we “tell” a new story of learning? The 8 Cultural Forces.
  • What do the cultural forces look like in action?
Session 3

The Cultural Force of Language
  • What are out insights and questions around a culture of thinking thus far?
  • How can we better learn to look closely and recognize the cultural forces in action? A second look at the cultural forces
  • How can be better understand the different ways language gets used in the classrooms, and how it effects students?
Session 4

Creating Powerful Learning Opportunities
  • What do we already know about powerful learning opportunities from our experience as teachers?
  • What does research say about the crucial elements of powerful learning opportunities?
  • How can we better pay attention to these elements in our design of powerful learning?
Ron Ritchhart
Ron Ritchhart, Ed.D., is a Senior Research Associate at Harvard Project Zero where his work focuses on the development of school and classroom culture as prime vehicles for developing students’ as powerful thinkers and learners. Ron's research and writings have informed the work of schools, school systems, and museums throughout the world. His research is largely classroom based, learning from the best practice of teachers to better understand how they create conditions for powerful learning. Ron is an award-winning teacher and researcher, a sought-after speaker,and a prolific and influential writer. His best-selling books include Intellectual Character, Making Thinking Visible, and Creating Cultures of Thinking, and The Power of Making Thinking Visible. Ron began his career in education as elementary teacher in New Zealand before returning to the states where he taught art, third, and fourth grade as well as middle school mathematics.
 
DATES & TIMES:

Each Session is for 2 hours. And each course is for 4 sessions.

Option 1
9th, 16th, 23rd, 30th January 2021
India 5:30 am | Hong Kong 8:00 am | Melbourne 11:00 am
Corresponds with 8th, 15th, 23rd, 29th January 2021
PST 4:00 pm | MST 5:00 pm | EST 7:00 pm

Option 2
3rd, 10th, 17th, 24th February 2021
PST 8:00 am | MST 9:00 am | EST 11:00 pm | London 4:00 pm | Zurich 5:00 pm | Dubai 8:00 pm | India 9:30 pm
INVESTMENT
 
USD 400
Group discount of USD 350 each for a Group of 5
USD 300 each for a Group of 10 or more
INCLUDES: Certificate of Participation for 10 Professional Development Hours
Upcoming Workshops
THE POWER OF MAKING THINKING VISIBLE ONLINE WORKSHOP
- By RON RITCHHART & MARK CHURCH
6th, 13th, 20th, 27th January 2021
6th, 13th, 20th, 27th February 2021
Emails:
www.chaptersinternational.com
+91-9818362535