-->
Language arts teachers tend to be text-oriented—comfortable in the world of reading and writing. However, the world in which our students live is increasingly visual. They are bombarded by images. We ignore that world at our peril.

In this class, we’ll look at the interplay between photography and writing, and the uncanny parallels between them. We may find out that our students already know a great deal about images. We will look at how we can tap into their understanding of the visual worldto help them become stronger writers. Ralph Fletcher’s most recent professional book is Focus Lessons: How Photography Enhances the Teaching of Writing (Heinemann).
Session One
  • Reflecting on ourselves as photographers
  • Photos tell stories
  • Using photographs as mentor texts
  • Using the cell phone camera as a writer’s notebook
Session Two
REPORT BACK:
  • How do you use your camera as a WN?
  • How do your students use it in this way?
  • Using the language of photography to teach the craft of writing
Session Three
REPORT BACK:
  • Trying a mini-lesson using the language of photography
  • Photography as inquiry
  • Read excerpt from Photography Changes Everything by Heiferman
Session Four
REPORT BACK:
  • What did you learn from looking at your photos?
  • What did your students learn from looking at theirs?
  • Writing from a photo
  • Nagging questions
Ralph Fletcher
Ralph Fletcher has been a mentor to teachers and young writers everywhere. He frequently works with young writers in schools, and speaks at education conferences in the US and abroad, helping teachers find wiser ways of teaching writing. Ralph is the author of many bestselling teacher professional books including Writing Workshop: The Essential Guide; Craft Lessons; What a Writer Needs, 2nd edition; and Boy Writers: Reclaiming Their Voices. His most recent professional books include Joy Write: Cultivating High-Impact Low-Stakes Writing (April 2017) and The Writing Teacher's Companion: Embracing Choice, Voice, Purpose and Play (July 2017).

Students know Ralph as the award-winning author of more than 20 books for children and young adults, including Fig Pudding, Flying Solo, Twilight Comes Twice, The Writer's Notebook, Marshfield Dreams: When I Was a Kid, Also Known As Rowan Pohi, and Guy-Write: What Every Guy Writer Needs to Know.
 
DATES & TIMES:

6th, 13th, 20th, 27th February 2021
Each Session is for 2 Hours
London 10:00 am | Zurich 11:00 am | Dubai 2:00 pm | India 3:30 pm | Hong Kong 6:00 pm | Melbourne 9:00 pm
INVESTMENT
 
USD 400 Per Participant
USD 350 Per Participant for a Group of 5
USD 300 Per Participant for a Group of 10 and more
INCLUDES: Certificate of Participation for 10 Professional Development Hours
Emails:
www.chaptersinternational.com
+91-9818362535