Empirical and anecdotal evidence shows that boys struggle in writing classrooms. Why is this so? What specific challenges (such as handwriting) handicap boys? How can we widen the circle and make the writing classroom a place where boys can find their stride as writers? Ralph is the author of Boy Writers: Reclaiming Their Voices. Audience: teachers K-12, curriculum specialists, administrators.
Session One:
  • Essential conditions for young writers
  • Boy writers & girl writers—teasing out similarities and differences
  • Looking at the writing classroom from a boy’s perspective
  • Video: “A Boys Writing Club”
  • Looking ahead: Surveying a male writer (student or adult)
Session Two:
  • Reporting Back: Looking at survey responses from male writers
  • Examining writing by boys
  • Thinking about humor in boy writing
  • Looking ahead: Gathering boy writing samples
Session Three:
  • Reporting back: Sharing boy writing samples
  • Thinking about the issue of violence in boy’s writing
  • Video clip from “Raising Cain”
  • Looking ahead: Identifying one boy who has been stymied or censored in writing.
Session Four:
  • Reporting back: Sharing about a boy who has been stymied/censored in writing.
  • Rethinking revision
  • Brainstorming boy-friendly genres
  • Connections, quotables, and tension
  • Action plan: Where do we go from here?
Potential Audience:
K-12 Educators
 
RALPH FLETCHER
Ralph Fletcher has been a mentor to teachers and young writers everywhere. He frequently works with young writers in schools, and speaks at education conferences in the US and abroad, helping teachers find wiser ways of teaching writing. Ralph is the author of many bestselling teacher professional books including Writing Workshop: The Essential Guide; Craft Lessons; What a Writer Needs, 2nd edition; and Boy Writers: Reclaiming Their Voices. His most recent professional books include Joy Write: Cultivating High-Impact Low-Stakes Writing (April 2017) and The Writing Teacher's Companion: Embracing Choice, Voice, Purpose and Play (July 2017).

Students know Ralph as the award-winning author of more than 20 books for children and young adults, including Fig Pudding, Flying Solo, Twilight Comes Twice, The Writer's Notebook, Marshfield Dreams: When I Was a Kid, Also Known As Rowan Pohi, and Guy-Write: What Every Guy Writer Needs to Know.
 
DATES & TIMES:

17th, 18th, 24th, 25th April 2021
Each Session is for 2 Hours.
London 10:00 am | Zurich 11:00 am | Dubai 1:00 pm | India 2:30 pm | Hong Kong 5:00 pm | Melbourne 7:00 pm
INVESTMENT
 
USD 400 Per Participant
USD 350 Per Participant for a Group of 5
USD 300 Per Participant for a Group of 10 and more
INCLUDES: Certificate of Participation for 10 Professional Development Hours
Emails:
www.chaptersinternational.com
+91-9818362535