Overview:
How do social studies teachers maximize instruction to ensure students are prepared for informed civic life? This workshop is for teachers who know that the discipline of social studies is more than simply memorizing dates and facts-it encapsulates the skillful ability to conduct investigations, analyze sources, place events in historical context, and synthesize divergent points of view.
Session 1: Surface level learning
  • Explore the science of learning to understand how concepts aid retention and transfer of learning.
  • Choose disciplinary lenses, anchoring concepts, and sub-concepts to guide a unit of study.
Session 2: Deep learning
  • Investigate how questions can guide learning and point student attention to deeper structural patterns of the discipline.
  • Write compelling and conceptual relationship questions that engage students and build organizational structure in students’ brains.
Session 3: Transfer learning
  • Determine specific instances, case studies, historical contexts, or current events, where students will apply their learning to unlock a new situation.
  • Find or create novel contexts where students can apply conceptual understanding.
Audience:
Primary / elementary and secondary teachers, curriculum leaders, instructional coaches, instructional leaders
Purchase of this companion resource is highly recommended for this workshop.
 
Julie Stern
Julie Stern is passionate about synthesizing the best of education research into practical tools that support educators in breaking free of the industrial model of schooling and moving toward teaching and learning that promotes sustainability, equity, and well-being. She is the best-selling author of Learning that Transfers, Visible Learning for Social Studies with Hattie, Fisher, Frey and Tools for Teaching Conceptual Understanding, Elementary and Secondary. She is the thought leader behind the global workshop series Making Sense of Learning Transfer and is a certified trainer in Visible Learning Plus. She is a James Madison Constitutional Fellow and taught social studies for many years in Washington, DC and her native Louisiana. Julie moves internationally every few years with her husband, a US diplomat, and her two young sons.
 
DATES & TIMES:

15th, 22nd, 29th January 2022

Each session is for 2 hours.
New York 4:30 am | London 9:30 am | Zurich 10:30 am | Dubai 1:30 pm | India 3:00 pm | Hong Kong 5:30 pm
Melbourne 8:30 pm

Please click here to check your time for the workshop
INVESTMENT
 
USD 300 Per Participant
INCLUDES: Certificate of Participation for 8 Professional Development hours.
Emails:
www.chaptersinternational.com
+91-9818362535