Overview:
In this new online workshop, participants over two days will explore and develop how outdoors environments and places in which to encounter nature whether that be in cities or forests, in urban or coastal areas can become significant inspiration and starting points for generating ecological inquiry that through developing meaning-making and poly-sensorial learning experiences also develops and deepens young children’s ecological identity. There are many benefits for developing an ecological identity including how it facilitates richer relationships, knowledge and understanding about the interdependencies of natural systems, living and non-living relations and connections. It also invites educators to consider their values about issues of sustainability, climate crisis and environmental social justice and what it is they can do to raise awareness of ways to become more sustainable and ecologically attentive in their schools and classrooms.
Session 1 – 2 hours
  • Outdoor learning – the benefits for young children’s development and learning
  • Learning in and together with nature – theory and practice
  • Environments that support learning together with nature
Session 2 – 2 hours
  • Aesthetics and beauty, materials in and of nature
  • Art as observation, investigation, and reasoning
  • Meaning-Making and Poly-Sensorial learning in nature
Session 3 – 2 hours
  • What is an ecological identity?
  • Ecological Inquiry – A Case Study from practice
  • Thinking, reflecting and reviewing ecological thinking and identity
Session 4 – 2 hours
  • Ecological framework and core principles
  • Generating contexts and experiences for ecological inquiry
  • The sustainable classroom – materials, teaching and pedagogy
DEBI KEYTE - HARTLAND
Debi Keyte-Hartland MA is an international consultant and artist educator with over 20 plus years of experience working in community settings including health, social and educational organizations primarily with a focus on early learning, creativity, the arts and inquiry. She has worked with schools in the UK, Singapore, China, Norway, Switzerland, Sweden, Romania, Canada, Brazil and Senegal and she is passionate about creative, reflective and transdisciplinary approaches to learning that involve the thinking and interests of young children.

She is influenced by the schools, values and processes of The Reggio Emilia Approach® and also by systems thinking (Gregory Bateson) and design thinking approaches. During her masters, she researched the creative and communicative approaches that young children displayed in their drawing and graphicacy to a transformed pedagogy and practice to create richer experiences for children.

She is an associate MA lecturer with CREC (Centre for Research for Early Childhood) with Birmingham City University, in the UK on the subject of Creativity and the Arts in Early Childhood and an Associate Consultant for Early Education (a UK national charity) supporting early years educators with training, resources and professional networks.

She encountered the work of Loris Malaguzzi more than 20 years ago and it has since served as a pillar of inspiration and ethical reference that continually transforms and shapes her work with children and their educators, family and community. She is currently studying with Reggio Children as part of their Teacher-Educator Program on the Reggio Emilia Approach® together with the International Network of Reggio Children.
 
DATES & TIMES:

Each Session is for 2 Hours

Session 1
19th March 2022
London 6:00 am | Zurich 7:00 am | Dubai 10:00 am | India 11:30 am | Hong Kong 2:00 pm

Session 2
19th March 2022
London 8:30 am | Zurich 9:30 am | Dubai 12:30 pm | India 2:00 pm | Hong Kong 4:30 pm

Session 3
26th March 2022
London 7:00 am | Zurich 8:00 am | Dubai 10:00 am | India 11:30 am | Hong Kong 2:00 pm

Session 4
26th March 2022
London 9:30 am | Zurich 10:30 am | Dubai 12:30 pm | India 2:00pm | Hong Kong 4:30 pm

Please click here to check your time for the workshop
INVESTMENT
 
USD 400 Per Participant
USD 350 Per Participant for a Group of 6
INCLUDES: Certificate of Participation for 10 Professional Development Hours.
 
Emails:
www.chaptersinternational.com
+91-9818362535