OVERVIEW
How do we demonstrate an inquiry disposition in a leadership role? What does it mean to step back and allow teachers to take more control? How do we respond to their questions? What might we give up and get back in return? At what point do we ‘draw the line’? This workshop will explore these questions and offer school leaders practical tools from Liberating Structures and Experience Inquiry to develop and nurture a culture of inquiry.
Outcomes
  • Solicit feedback from your team to develop a plan of action
  • Rethink and revise your leadership routines to encourage an inquiry-based school environment
  • Connect with and develop relationships colleagues around the world
Session Sequence:
I. Developing Relationships
  • Establishing emotional bonds through Impromptu Networking
  • Heard, Seen, Respected
  • Appreciative inquiry methods
  • Inquiry Leader Self-Survey
II. Creating Effective Feedback Loops
  • Providing feedback
  • Receiving feedback
  • Using feedback
III. Rethinking Your Meetings
  • Consultancy Protocols (Troika)
  • Spiral Journaling
  • ‘This is Why’ routine
Target Audience:
Heads of School, Directors of Teaching & Learning, Principals, Associate Principals, IB Coordinators, Instructional Leaders / Team Facilitators in K-12 schools.

At the start of the course, each participant will be assigned an ‘AccountaBuddy’ (another participant from the course) to work with more closely both inside and outside of our synchronous meetings. At the end of each session, participants will be asked to develop goals based on the exercises we engage in to practice throughout the week – and prepare to share out what worked.
Kimberly L. Mitchell:
Kimberly is the founder of Inquiry Partners, author of Experience Inquiry, and former Chair of the International Baccalaureate (IB) Americas Regional Board with 30 years of experience in education. She is an award-winning instructor at the University of Washington’s College of Education in Seattle, Washington where she ‘practices what she preaches’ about inquiry in her undergraduate courses and individual counseling practice.

Throughout her career, Kimberly has worked in the United States, Ecuador, Greece, and Argentina as an Elementary and Middle Teacher, a High School and Elementary School Principal (Diploma and PYP), a Senior Program Officer at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, and Program Director at Teach for All.

Kimberly earned her BA from Skidmore College and her MA from Stanford University.
 
DATES & TIMES:

13th, 27th October & 10th November 2021

Each Session is for 2 hours.
London 7:30 am | Zurich 8:30 am | Kenya 9:30 am | Dubai 10:30 am | India 12:00 pm | Hong Kong 2:30 pm
Melbourne 5:00 pm
INVESTMENT
 
USD 350 Per Participant
USD 300 Per Participant for a Group of 5
INCLUDES: Certificate of participation for 8 Professional Development hours.
Upcoming Workshops
How to Help Our Learners Become Self-Navigators: Personalized
Approaches That Work!
- By Dr. Heidi Hayes Jacobs
5th, 12th, 19th, 26th October 2021
Invitations, Opportunities, and Instruction That Support Young Children to Make
Meaning, Expand Oral Language, and Engage Joyfully with Books and Any
Other Texts (Pre-K -1st Grade)
- By Kathy Collins
30th October, 6th, 13th, 20th November 2021
Creating a Culture of Thinking
- By Ron Ritchhart
30th October, 6th, 12th, 20th November 2021
Emails:
www.chaptersinternational.com
+91-9818362535