OVERVIEW
As the world continues to deal with the impacts of a global pandemic, the social and emotional needs of students have never been more stark. But what about those who work with students and teachers? Strengthening the Social Emotional Learning skills for educators who are feeling the effects of secondary trauma and stress is equally as important. Join Kimberly and your colleagues around the world in an exploration of the five SEL competencies. Learn and practice specific strategies to improve your own SEL in the context of your professional life – and watch how these same strategies powerfully and positively influence your life outside of school, too.
Outcomes
Together, we will explore the research base behind each SEL skill and engage in a series of exercises (writing, discussion and case study work) to answer the following questions:
  • Self-awareness: What are your emotional triggers? How do they impact your behavior?

  • Social awareness: How well can you empathize with others and view issues from multiple perspectives?

  • Self-management: How can you take better control of your thoughts, emotions and actions in the heat of the moment?

  • Relationship skills: How are you with asking for help, listening closely, and resolving conflict?

  • Decision-making: What strategies can you use to respond to a situation based on ethics, safety, consequences and the well-being of yourself / others?
Target Audience:
This class will be tailored to everyone who works with students and / or teachers in a (K-12) school setting. At the start of the course, each participant will be assigned an ‘AccountaBuddy’ (another participant from the course) to work with more closely both inside and outside of our synchronous meetings. At the end of each session, participants will be asked to develop goals based on the exercises we engage into practice throughout the week – and prepare to share out what worked.
Kimberly L. Mitchell:
Kimberly is the founder of Inquiry Partners, author of Experience Inquiry, and former Chair of the International Baccalaureate (IB) Americas Regional Board with 30 years of experience in education. She is an award-winning instructor at the University of Washington’s College of Education in Seattle, Washington where she ‘practices what she preaches’ about inquiry in her undergraduate courses and individual counseling practice.

Throughout her career, Kimberly has worked in the United States, Ecuador, Greece, and Argentina as an Elementary and Middle Teacher, a High School and Elementary School Principal (Diploma and PYP), a Senior Program Officer at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, and Program Director at Teach for All.

Kimberly earned her BA from Skidmore College and her MA from Stanford University.
 
DATES & TIMES:

2nd, 9th, 16th & 23rd October 2021

Each Session is for 2 hours.
London 7:30 am | Zurich 8:30 am | Kenya 9:30 am | Dubai 10:30 am | India 12:00 pm | Hong Kong 2:30 pm
Melbourne 5:00 pm
INVESTMENT
 
USD 400 Per Participant
USD 300 Per Participant for a Group of 6
INCLUDES: Certificate of participation for 10 Professional Development hours.
Upcoming Workshops
Connecting Content and Kids: Understanding by Design
and Differentiated Instruction Presented
- By Jay McTighe & Carol Ann Tomlinson
4th, 5th, 11th, 12th, 18th September 2021
Empathy to Impact - The Future of the World is in our
Classrooms
- By Steve Sostak & Scott Jamieson
11th, 18th, 25th September & 2nd October 2021
Power of Playful Inquiry
- By Susan Harris Mackay & Matt Karlsen
23rd, 30th October & 6th, 13th November 2021
Emails:
www.chaptersinternational.com
+91-9818362535